Growlight talk part 2 – white light, blue light, red light.

Since my last post, my light caput. So I changed it up a little bit, and I’ve noticed some interesting changes.

Main rack: 2x 3ft white, 2x 3ft rrbw
Sub rack 1+2: 2 x 3ft white, 2x 3ft rrbw

What have I observed?

Several of my airplants have started putting out roots. I always use roots as a gauge of how happy my plants are, actually, and to see them appearing after the light tube change tells me something’s changed to make them happy.

So I went and did some reading. r/HandsOnComplexity is a really good resource when you can wrap your head around the numbers. Apparently cool white has more blue compared to warm white, so now I’m wondering if by reducing my cool white and increasing my red, I’ve nudged my plants into a better place for growth. I suspect only time will tell, since they’ve only just started putting out roots.

Useful reads:
Color and white LEDS