Choosing plants for your environment: A general how-to (a.k.a. what I did when I go plant-shopping).

I would say this is predominantly applicable for foliage plants and orchids, but perhaps less so to succulents and airplants and carnivorous plants.

So, you want to start a garden, but you’ve got no idea what to do. Fret not!

First: Decide on where you’re putting your plants.

When I first decided I was going to plant outside again, I considered the harsh sun that my plants would have to face. Knowing that, I simply walked into World Farm, ignored every other section and went straight for the ones that were outside without shelter. Why?

Because they’re the ones most likely to survive being baked under midday sun.

When I started buying for the plot, I simply decided on vandas and papillionanthes for that corner that I know would survive being exposed to the elements. Which brings me to:

Second: Decide what plants you want to get.

Not all plants are created equal.

Take orchids, for example. There’s an incredible a variety from phalaenopsis to bulbophyllums to dendrobiums to vandas and papillionanthes to ones that I obviously haven’t covered but will run into two paragraphs if I name them all.

Some, like phalaenopsis, may actually hate you if you put them under full sun. Not that it’s impossible, but phals prefer a bit more shade than say, a vanda. Decide on the plant you want and find out what are the light requirements for this plant.

An arundina would be happy baking in the afternoon sun, but a mini-dendrobium? Afternoon sun might not spark joy.

Third: Observe the environment at the nursery and match it as much as possible to your home environment.

When I go to nurseries, I usually observe where they’re placed and how much shade netting they get. This helps me decide where I can place this plant, and if the plant is suitable for me.

An example: Earlier this month a few friends and I visited Neo Cheng Soon Farm (and blew a substantial amount on plants), but I observed something interesting.

1) A lot of plants they have are under one single layer of shade netting.

2) The mini-dendrobiums are under two layers.

3) Some plants were placed under the larger ones, meaning they got lesser light.

Conclusion:

1) If I got the ones under 1 layer of shade netting, they’ll be fine outdoors at the plot.

2) I need more shade for these, so I have to reconsider if I want to put them outdoors without shelter.

3) Some of them are fine with sun, but they’ll be happy to be hidden under a larger plant or larger clumps of plants.

Know your environment. What works for a HDB corridor may not work for a landed property. For me, what works for HDB corridors certainly doesn’t work for me, and I’ve got to juggle remembering two environments. (Three, if you count indoors under lights).

(Bonus) Four: Are you using lights?

If you’re using lights, you might be able to grow certain things indoors. I grow a vanilla aphylla indoors under lights, and it seems to adore the light there. Know what you’ve got, and use it.